Things to celebrate

In the last month I have noticed some positive changes with Thomas that I would like to celebrate with you all.

  • Thomas is now content to sit in my lap and listen to a story. Anyone who knows me personally knows that I love reading! I am so thankful that Thomas is able to participate in this experience. He used to get upset and start to cry and most times would get anxious about touching the book. He is showing a curiosity to touch the pages. These books we are so lucky to loan from the BLENNZ library. 
  • Thomas is using his eyes more to look. If you are in his presence, it is all about knowing his preferred visual field. His preferred visual field where he sees best is his left peripheral visual field within 10-15 centimetres. I still offer him objects to both, but if I want him to look at me, I will put myself in the appropriate position and he will repeatedly look at me, look away, look back again. He will not give eye contact but he does look at me for 1-2 seconds. He has done this with other people like family members and visiting therapists. 
  • When sitting with Thomas to play on the floor he is content to sit with me for a lengthy period to cuddle, read, play with different toys, sing and rock about. He will often try to turn around to look at me. 
  • Thomas looking Video
  • He is making many attempts to echo my sounds. Words he prefers to say are hello, mum, love you and more. Today, he mostly said hello. He loves to say hello. He’s trying to copy my tone, whether it might be a loud sound or the same sound but gently uttered. Sometimes it’s single vowels like ‘a’ and ‘o’ but he draws them out like he’s yelling it! 
  • The IPad continues to be a wonderful tool. Thomas will remain quite focused and engaged when in the right mood of course. He is really into a new piano app called Burp and Fart Piano. He thinks it’s hilarious!

   

  • I have found a way to encourage Thomas to paint. By using rice, wheat or textured cardboard, he is willing to give it a go. He has the most determined face when he paints!
  • Thomas has overcome his phobia of the Velcro sound. He would scream, cry and melt down when he heard this sound and quite often due to it being a necessary part of all his pieces of equipment I.e. Standing frame, bath chair and AFO’s. How has he overcome it? It is also a part of his safe t sleep system which when we take it off, he has now associated the sound as a positive reinforcement for getting out of bed. We also say ‘ready’ and he knows that a sound is coming. 

  

3 thoughts on “Things to celebrate

Leave a comment